Abdi Ali, a new graduate of Denison University, was awarded a prestigious Davis Projects for Peace grant to start a community health clinic in rural Ethiopia. [Photo courtesy of Hung Tran of The Denisonian.]

Scholars Win Competitive Post-College Fellowships

Summer 2013 | National

This year, 34 Scholars from across the country were awarded 37 prestigious national fellowships for graduate-level research, independent study, teaching assistantships and international study. These competitive and highly-sought opportunities will grant Scholars invaluable experience as they pursue advanced degrees and chart their career courses. To date, Posse Scholars have won 136 national fellowships, including 35 Fulbright scholarships.

Fulbright Scholarship
Jahn Jamarillo, Trinity College 
Gabrielle Kelenyi, Pomona College
Stefanie Kundakjian, Grinnell College 
Anika Manzoor, Grinnell College
Jemarley McFarlane, Colby College
Vanja Pantic, Boston University
Lindsay Powell, Wheaton College

Thomas J. Watson Fellowship
Barbara Ofosu-Somuah, Middlebury College
Robin Wonsley, Carleton College

Beinecke Scholarship Program
Joel Vargas, Lafayatte College
David Williams, Carleton College

The National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program
Mitchell Hinton, Tulane University

Urban Scholars Program, Harvard University
Claudia Martinez, Brandeis University

Projects for Peace
Abdi Ali, Denison University 
Liam Lawson, Connecticut College
David Rojas, Connecticut College

Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship
Opeyemi Awe, Grinnell College 
Rachel Jones, University of Southern California
Esteniolla Maitre, Bryn Mawr College
Chandrea Pung, Bryn Mawr College

The Thomas R. Pickering Foreign Affairs Fellowship Program
Alexis Nieves, Wheaton College

Congressional Hispanic Caucus Fellowship
Alexis Nieves, Wheaton College

Critical Language Scholarship Program, U.S. Department of State
Sandra Bertin, DePauw University

McNair Scholars Program
Kiana Murphy, University of Wisconsin-Madison 
Sheeniza Shah, Lawrence University
Tonya St. Julien, Lawrence University

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Program
Karina Ayala-Casanova, Brandeis University
Lana Mahgoub, Grinnell College
Saramaat Imhotep, Brandeis University
Oluwatomi Jaiyesimi, Brandeis University
Marzan Khan, Babson College
Atiya McGhee, Wheaton College
Alexis Nieves, Wheaton College
Yanessy Pena, Dickinson College
Nicole Price, Dickinson College
Tammy Tran, Lawrence University
Joel Vargas, Lafayatte College