Summer 2014| Posse National Newsletter


Scholars, Alumni Win Prestigious Fellowships

This year, Posse Scholars and alumni won at least 50 highly coveted fellowships for independent study, graduate-level research, international service and teaching assistantships. In addition, six Scholars and alumni received Posse Graduate Fellowships to pursue advanced degrees at top institutions affiliated with Posse. These competitive and prestigious awards uniquely position recipients for advanced career opportunities. Since 2001, Scholars and alumni have won more than 180 national fellowships. Below is a list of this year’s winners.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Beza Ayalew, Denison University

Critical Language Scholarship Program, U.S. Department of State
Stephanie Clemente, Trinity College
Laura Razzuri, Bucknell University

Davis Projects for Peace
Daniel Brooks, University of Pennsylvania
Nathalie Figueroa, University of Pennsylvania

Education Pioneers
Ijeoma Anyanwu, Sewanee:The University of the South

Fulbright Program
Anwar Abdul-Wahab, Brandeis University
Stephanie Clemente, Trinity College
Sarah Houston, Pepperdine University
Amy Jimenez, Kalamazoo College
Alexis Nieves, Wheaton College
Melissa Serrano, Franklin & Marshall College
Anthony Sis, Connecticut College
Joel Vargas, Lafayette College
Dianna Webb, Sewanee:The University of the South

Fulbright Summer Institute
Ryan Dearon, Oberlin College

German Academic Exchange Service
Frederic Camara, Middlebury College

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Program
Eddie Andujar, Lafayette College
Exequiel Caceres, Middlebury College
Huy Ho, Hamilton College
Jennifer Idrovo, Trinity College
Rachel Jones, University of Southern California
Rosiane Lima, Union College
Nam Nguyen, Lafayette College
Chandrea Peng, Bryn Mawr College
Midley Theork, Bryn Mawr College
Chau Tieu, Bucknell University

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Research Fellows Program
Eddie Alsina, Franklin & Marshall College

Humanity in Action Fellowship
Joel Vargas, Lafayette College
Mushfiqur Chowdhury, University of Southern California

Japan Teaching & Exchange Program
Sondey Olaseun, Dickinson College

Luce Scholars Program
Joshua Cole, Boston University

McNair Scholars Program
Philip Jean-Remy, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Daniel Linton, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Jonathan Rodriguez, University of Wisconsin-Madison
John Valencia, University of California, Berkeley

Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship
Kathiana Abraham, Bryn Mawr College
Jasmine Adams, Oberlin College
Alexandria Cunningham, Oberlin College
Anthony Harb, Carleton College
Rachel Jones, University of Southern California
Georgia Soares, University of Southern California
Jermaine Stewart-Webb, Grinnell College
Rochelle Waite, Bryn Mawr College

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship
Lamia Harper, Brandeis University

Peace Corps
Saumya Deva, University of Wisconsin-Madison

The Thomas J. Pickering Foreign Affairs Fellowship
Rana Abdelhamid, Middlebury College
Spencer Salibury, Middlebury College

Princeton in Latin America
Argemira Florez, Franklin & Marshall College

Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation
Rana Abdelhamid, Middlebury College
Karimah Shabazz, Bard College

Thomas J. Watson Fellowship
Tianna Lall, Wheaton College

Posse Graduate Fellowship, Johns Hopkins University
Asha Jordan, Bucknell University
David Williams, Carleton College

Posse Graduate Fellowship, Northwestern University
Tina Hossain, Claremont McKenna College

Posse Graduate Fellowship, University of Washington
Marcel Baugh, College of Wooster

View other stories in the Posse National Quarterly